Challenges and expectations

I have always had very high expectations of myself. Most of the time, they are helpful. They make me strive to do my very best in all that I do, and they ensure I never do things half way.

But sometimes, this is my downfall. I can be very impatient with myself, especially when I am new to things. I expect myself to grasp them quickly, and sometimes become impatient with myself when I don’t. I put myself down when I don’t see improvements in something I am doing. And while I would be the first to comfort a friend over things, telling them that everything takes time, that this is only natural, I find it difficult to adopt these attitudes towards myself.

But I’ve really been trying lately. I’ve been taking time out to breathe when I get frustrated with myself.

Be patient. It took generations of the best and brightest minds of their time to understand even the most fundamental of concepts.

I need a space where I can concentrate on what I have achieved so far, on what I am doing to work towards my goals, to record and celebrate the milestones along the way. I need a place where I can concentrate on myself. I need to learn to focus on what I am achieving, instead of what I expect myself to achieve, or what I see others achieving.

So this was the idea behind this blog. To develop patience, while still challenging myself to push my boundaries 😀

7 comments

  1. Yes, I relate too! Concentrate on yourself. It’s something I remind myself of when I’m feeling critical of others. Go easy on them. Go easy on yourself. We’re doing the best we can and no one is perfect.

    Like

    1. That’s also something I try to keep in mind! I’ve definitely noticed I’m more critical of others when I’m feeling unsure of myself, so I like to remind myself that criticizing other peoples’ weaknesses won’t make me any stronger.

      Like

  2. Me four! I set high expectations and when I don’t meet them quickly I lose confidence and am left disappointed, but I am working on changing that. I’ve been pushing myself tphysically o try new things, and to be more realistic with achieving them in a more realistic timescale. Each small achievement fills me with positivity and the drive to push myself further. I now need to work on applying this to other aspects of my life

    Like

    1. Trying new things always helps me move past a plateau where I see no improvement in training! I’ve also been working on more realistic goals, and on setting smaller milestones along the way, instead of constantly thinking of my end-goal, which can sometimes seem discouragingly far away. Seeing achievements and improvement, no matter how small, is definitely really motivating. Other aspects of life can be more challenging, and harder to set specific goals to, since physical goals can be measured in time or distance, I definitely need to work on that!

      Like

Leave a Reply

